Sunday, December 21, 2008

New Mayor Of Shepparton Council

Geoff Dobson has replaced Chris Hazleman as the new Mayor of the City of Greater Shepparton in todays special council meeting. Long serving councilmen Kevin 'Gunna' Ryan is the new Duputy Mayor.

Wednesday, December 17, 2008


Greater Shepparton Mayor Chris Hazelman has resigned as Mayor due to ill health after only two weeks in the top job. Acting CEO Peter Harriot said he recieved Councillor Hazelman's letter of resignation after feeling unwell and being hospitalised earlier this week for a number of tests. Experts advised Cr Hazelman to reduce his workload and this has forced him to step back from the role of Mayor.
A special Council meeting to elect a replacement Mayor will be held at Council Offices, 90 Welsford St, Shepparton on Monday 22 December 2008 at 1pm. It may take several months before Cr Hazelman is back to full health again. He will be taking a break over the Christmas period and hopes to rejoin his fellow councilors in the New Year.

Monday, December 1, 2008

GVFL Out Of The Water, For Now

The GVFL announced a $42,505 trading profit for 2008 at its Annual General Meeting at the Shepparton United Clubrooms last night. “The end result entails $30,942 in the bank, all commitments for 2008 met and finalised, and a debt reduction, excluding the property loan, to $36,402 at the 31 October 2008, ” GVFL Chair John Coghlan said. The trading profit and debt reduction was a stark turnaround of the financial fortunes of the GVFL experienced at the start of the year when there was no cash flow for the summer months, and an original $69,000 debt, excluding the property loan, which ballooned out to $120,000 once the VicHealth and FJ Arthur Trust Fund issues were realised. “Whilst the end financial result for 2008 is deemed as satisfactory it is imperative to note that 2008 was only the first year of a two year plan to effect the full financial recovery of the League. More of the same must occur in 2009 !” Coghlan said. One of the highlights of the meeting was the presentation of the VCFL Recognition of Service Medallion to Seymour’s Gary Brown in recognition of his 20 years of service as Secretary of the Seymour Football Club. In the election for the GVFL Board 7 candidates nominated for 6 vacant positions. Coghlan, Ian McDonald, Trevor Pollard and Norm Gillespie were elected for 2 years, and Mick Williams and Freddo McMahon were elected for 1 year. Ian Fitzsimmons, who was elected for a 2 year period in 2007, is the seventh member of the Board. ‘It was encouraging to match the football deeds of the GVFL in a year when we were VCFL Champions with a financial result that augurs well for the future,” Coghlan said.

Muto Makes It To Council, Sondrae Bombs out!

The Verdict: Muto in, Sondre out. Controvercial hotel owner Milvan Muto has succesfully made it onto council despite strong aposals from previous council members. Sondrae Johnson however has failed to make strong numbers, seeing a wave of popularity in the word of the day "change". Unsuccessful Shepparton Council Candidate Ian Christoe has called for a recount after missing out on being elected by a single vote. Four new faces have been elected onto Greater Shepparton City Council. Milvan Muto, Geoff Dobson, Cherie Crawford and Michael Polan will join Chris Hazelman, Jenny Houlihan and Kevin Ryan. Real Estate agent Mr Dobson dominated the polls, thanking the community, but ruled out running for mayor. Cr Ryan was the second councilor elected, with Cr Houlihan third and Mr Muto coming in fourth. hock result Strathbogie mayor Greg Carlson was defeated by Peter Woodhouse other successful candidates were Howard Myers, Robin Steers Debra Swan, Neil Murray, Colleen Furlanetto and Graeme Mick Williams. In Moira, David McKenzie, Brian Keenan, Edward Cox, Gary Jones, Alex Monk, Tim McCurdy, Jessie McCallum, Judy Heather and Peter Robison were all elected. Kyabram ward elected Carol Howell, Neil Rappercholi and Neil Pan-churst to the Campaspe Shire while Marion Riley was re-elected in the Waranga ward. In Benalla council stalwart Bill Hill topped the poll from Pat Cla-ridge, Donald Firth, Peter Dunn, Peter Davis, Suzy Martin and Barb Alexander